12th Science Congress gets concluded with the felicitation of Young Scientists awardees

12th Science Congress gets concluded with the felicitation – 12th Uttarakhand State Science and Technology Congress organized during 7-9 March 2018 at Vigyan Dham, Jhajra gets concluded by honoring Young Scientists awardees during valedictory function on 9th March, 2018. The chief guest for the valedictory session was Dr. Anjan Ray, Director, CSIR-Indian Institute of Petroleum, Dehradun and gave an enlightening deliberation on knowledge and wisdom. While addressing more than 600 researchers and scientists, he stated that to utilize the knowledge for the beneficiary of mankind it should be exercised with wisdom. He summons the young researchers to propagate science to every niche and corner of society. Dr. Ray have worked with many big corporate companies and later on joined the government sector to work dedicatedly for the progress of the country. He shared his experiences with youngsters in which he narrated about his journey to the Amarkantak the origin of Narmada River, and about the villages he came across and their problems, which was a turning point in his life. He urge youngsters to get associated with the villages and use Science & Technology for uplifting the quality of life there.

Sahdev Singh Pundir, MLA Sahaspur, Dehradun presiding the programme  welcomed the elite scientists in his constituency. He congratulated the participants who received young scientist Award and felt proud and happy for the women candidates who outnumbered their male counterparts in receiving the Young Scientist Award. He appreciated Uttarakhand State Council for Science & Technology for choosing the theme “Beti Bachao Beti Padhao” for mementos.

Dr. Mahesh Sharma, Former Chairman Khadi and Gram Udyoge Commission, Govt. of India in his deliberation focused on the Himalaya and raised the concern on migration in Uttarakhand state. Focusing on the migration problem, he asked youngsters that they need to come forward and present the solutions for the problem. He said that the prime concern should be shown for the potential exploitation of natural resources and using skill development Micro Small Medium Enterprises (MSME) should be established which could help in reducing the migration problem up to some extends.  The youngsters should take up the challenges and along with the support of the government policies come up with the innovative solutions for the problems.

Dr. Sanjay Kumar, Director, CSIR-IHBT, Palampur, Himanchal Pradesh told that technology development and innovation are all time challenges and in this context educational and research institutes of Uttarakhand need to come forward to accept these challenges for sustainable solutions of the problem faced by the people of this region.

On this occasion Shri Chandra Mohan, Advisor DST, Govt. of India, New Delhi and Prof. D. K. Nauriyal, VC Kumaun University, Nainital also shared their views with the young scientists.

Dr. Rajendra Dobhal, DG, UCOST, in his valedictory address announced that in this 12th State Science & Technology Congress, after regress evaluation of oral/poster presentations by the expert panels comprising of scientists and academician of national/international acclaims, total 54 Young Scientists were selected in 16 different disciplines.

Amongst these 54 awardees 34 women candidates and 20 men were awarded with the honor.  All the awardees were felicitated with certificates and mementos by the chief guest and others guests on dais. The researchers of GB Pant University bagged a highest (15) number of awards followed by Kumaun University (7) and Forest Research Institute (7) however, no candidate were found suitable for the “Innovator of the Year Award”.



Read More Articles